Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Heritage Council

The Heritage Council of Western Australia is the State Government’s advisory body on heritage matters and is vested with functions and powers under the Heritage of Western Australia Act 1990.

The Heritage Council determines the organisation’s strategy, policies and makes key decisions on places to be entered into the State Register of Heritage Places and development referrals.

The Council comprises nine persons appointed by the Minister for Heritage, based on their skills and expertise.

The Council includes the chairperson, four community representatives and representatives of local government, professional associations, property owners, representatives from the National Trust of Australia (WA). People appointed to these positions are professionals with relevant expertise.

This diverse range of skills ensures that the Heritage Council is well equipped to deal with the identification, conservation and development of WA’s significant heritage places.

The Council is assisted by the Register Committee and the Development Committee which comprises Heritage Councillors and heritage and community representatives. Whilst the representatives are not formal members of the Heritage Council, they play an important role in assisting the Council with its decision-making.

The 2019 meeting dates for the Heritage Council, Register Committee and the Development Committee are as follows: 

Heritage Council
Register Committee
Development Committee
No meeting January No meeting January 22 January
8 February 22 February 26 February
8 March 29 March
26 March
12 April 24 April 23 April
10 May 31 May 28 May
14 June 28 June 25 June
12 July 26 July 23 July
9 August 30 August 27 August
13 September 27 September 24 September
11 October 25 October 22 October
8 November 29 November 26 November
 13 December 13 December (8.30 AM) 17 December

Heritage Council Membership

Anne Arnold, Chair
Philip Griffiths, Heritage Professions representative
Nerida Moredoundt, Community representative
Lloyd Clark, Community representative
Sally Malone, Community representative
Professor John Stephens, National Trust of Australia (WA) nominee
Dr Brad Pettitt, local government representative
Rob Druitt, owners' representative
Jennifer Marschner, member

The Heritage Council is guided by the Council Charter which clarifies the roles and responsibilities of the Heritage Council. The Council Charter as well as the Heritage Council's Declaration of Interest Policy can be found below.

Heritage Council Charter                                 Interest policy 2018

Register Committee Membership

The Register Committee determines the priority of assessment for all places nominated to the State Register; reviews assessment documentation of places under consideration; and makes recommendations to the Minister for Heritage of places deemed to have State level cultural heritage significance.

Phillip Griffiths (Chair)
Prof. John Stephens
Nerida Moredoundt
Dr Brad Pettitt
Dr Fiona Bush
Peter Woodward
Lucy Hair

Development Committee Membership

Proposed major changes to places listed in the State Register require formal consideration and advice by the Heritage Council. The Development Committee provides this advice for large-scale or complex projects, except when a project is particularly sensitive in which case it is dealt with by the full Council.

Anne Arnold (Chair)
Lloyd Clark
Jennifer Marschner
Chris Antill
Rob Druitt
Ian Maitland
Sally Malone

inHerit - an online portal for heritage listings

Contact Us

Our Office hours are from Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

View Larger Map

Heritage is integral to the vibrant life and prosperity of Western Australia.
General Enquiries

Level 2, 491 Wellington Street, Perth WA 6000

Locked Bag 2506

T: (08) 6551 8002
Freecall (regional): 1800 52 4000
F: (08) 6552 4001

Follow Us